4.2K members online now
Improve your AdWords performance and boost your ROI, CTR, and Quality Score
Guide Me
star_border

so I'm hoping you can help me.

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
  1. I've read some of the posts on this board and there seem to be quite a few VERY intelligent people out there so I'm hoping you can help me.

I've been running adwords campaigns for a few years. Recently, the minimum bids for many of my highly targeted words have been upped from $.35 to $5 or even $10 a click. I'm confused as the keyword is already four to six words long. My other confusion comes in when I'll choose a word or group of words that no one is doing search marketing on, and I will come in at $5 or $10 as a minimum bid.

Was there a HUGE pricing change I'm unaware of? I thought the purpose of adwords was to sell the keyword to the highest bidder, and when there is no highest bidder, you can't say that the #1 spot is for sale for $5 a click??

I would love it if someone could explain this to me.

THANK YOU!!

1 Expert replyverified_user
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Marked as Best Answer.
Solution
Accepted by Alys (Google Employee)
September 2015

Re: so I'm hoping you can help me.

Top Contributor
# 2
Top Contributor

Hi Xadmin,

>> the minimum bids for many of my highly targeted words have been upped from $.35 to $5 or even $10 a click <<

Competition is growing and as more and more advetisers join the Google AdWords Program, it is getting fierce and prices of clicks are increasing in some industries.

>>  thought the purpose of adwords was to sell the keyword to the highest bidder <<

That's the wrong assumption. Top priority is that a good user experience level should be maintained. Second is that Google has a favorable history associated with the term. Next comes your principle.

Chances are the second factor is missing in your case.

Best,

Lakatos

View solution in original post

Marked as Best Answer.
Solution
Accepted by Alys (Google Employee)