Improve your AdWords performance and boost your ROI, CTR, and Quality Score
Guide Me
star_border

What is my best AdWords strategy?

Follower ✭ ☆ ☆
# 1
Follower ✭ ☆ ☆

Hi All,

I'm relatively new to all this so I'm just after some guidance from people on here that know this better than myself! 

I own a locksmith business and my main aim is to generate as many calls as possible for my call only ad. My ad is purely set up just for emergency work only.

What bidding strategy would be best suited for my needs? It's extremely competitive in my trade with google adwords.

Thanks in advance! 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Marked as Best Answer.
Solution
Accepted by topic author Damien G
November 2016

[ Edited ]
Participant ✭ ✭ ✭
# 2
Participant ✭ ✭ ✭

Just my opinion, but it is based on quite a bit of experience:  I believe you would be making a mistake by relying exclusively on call-only ads. You are charged when they are clicked, but then they have to take another step to complete the call.  So it is not guaranteed that clicks=calls.  The bigger issue with them is, typically they result in a lot of wrong numbers because people aren't that accustomed to the format on mobile devices. 

I would spent at least 70% of your adspend on a search campaign with extended text format ads. I have seen that work out well for locksmiths, in a search campaign properly geo-targeted with the right keywords. 

Many businesses "just want a lot of calls" (leads) but that does not mean there is some magic shortcut to get that from a campaign.  All of the methods of setting up and optimizing a campaign are still required.  Locally geo-targeted campaigns have challenges of their own.

Also, just a hunch but FOR SURE use the new "Messaging extension" so people can reach you via text message.

hth

View solution in original post

Marked as Best Answer.
Solution
Accepted by topic author Damien G
November 2016

[ Edited ]
Participant ✭ ✭ ✭
# 2
Participant ✭ ✭ ✭