Improve your AdWords performance and boost your ROI, CTR, and Quality Score
Guide Me
star_border

Significant performance drop following account restructure

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Hi all, 

I'm relatively new to the Google AdWords community but have been working as a Google AdWords analyst for the last year and a half.  I recently took on the management of an account my agency has had for the past 5 years. During that time, the account has become very messy and I was given the task of re-organizing our campaigns to improve management.  Here are some of the things I considered when restructuring:

1. Maintaining the same keyword footprint (I did not remove any keywords with impressions over the last year; made sure I maintained my top converting keywords)

2. Organized campaigns aligned to the navigation of the landing page

We launched the new campaigns a couple weeks ago (5/11), and instantly I saw a drop in impressions, clicks, and conversions DoD, despite maintaining the same Impression Share and positioning.  Keyword bids and budgets are actually a bit higher than what they were previously to max out spend. I figured this could be explained by these campaigns getting acclimated to the Google auction...

However, it has now been almost two weeks and impressions, clicks, and conversions still remain significantly lower than their levels before the restructure.  Could someone please guide me in additional areas to QA to make sure I am not missing any low-hanging fruit?

The aspects I mentioned above remained the same pre- and post restructure, as well as Google campaigns settings (same rotation, location targets, and search network settings)

Any feedback you could provide would be very helpful.  Thanks so much.

1 Expert replyverified_user

Re: Significant performance drop following account restructure

Top Contributor
# 2
Top Contributor