Guide Me
star_border

SQR - best practice

[ Edited ]
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Hi All,

First post in the forum, glad to be part of the community but just to let you know, I am quite new in Adwords Smiley Happy

I am running SQR reports in order to add new Kws/ negative Kws.

I wanted to know if there is a best practice about it like :

- How often do you run SQR ?

- Which timeframe do you set up in order to get accurate data (Last 2 month/Since the last 12 month) ?

- Do you run it on an account / campaign / Ad group level ?

Thanks a lot for you answer to a beginner!

Nicolas

3 Expert replyverified_user
Marked as Best Answer.
Solution
Accepted by topic author Nicolas C
September 2015

Re: SQR - best practice

Rising Star
# 2
Rising Star

Hi there,

Answers inline:

How often do you run SQR: This depends on the size of the account and the kind of negatives you're using. If you're using exact negatives, you'll have to monitor it more frequently. If you're adding negatives/keywords for the first time, you can consider all time data which would be more time consuming but worth going for, the first time. From there on, you can look let the campaign run for a couple of weeks, then pull the report once again for last 14 days to get more insights.

Which timeframe do you set up in order to get accurate data (Last 2 month/Since the last 12 month): Based on how frequently you pull the report. If you've worked on the search terms two weeks back, it wouldn't make sense to look at last 30 days data right? Smiley Happy

Do you run it on an account / campaign / Ad group level: This would be based on the account/campaign structure and ad group theming. I'd suggest campaign level negatives, unless your ad groups are so different that one search term is irrelevant to a specific ad group but worth adding as a keyword in the other. You can go for account level negatives if they wouldn't block keywords in any other campaigns.

Feel free to write back!

Sumanth Sridhar