Improve your AdWords performance and boost your ROI, CTR, and Quality Score
Guide Me
star_border

Popular Keyword Eating All The Budget -- Help

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Hello,

I'm new to using adwords and came across a bit of a problem.

We're a small plumbing business based in a region in Scotland - I've managed to set up the campaigns geo location fine so that's good. But the problem is, my main keyword 'Plumbers' has an expensive cost per click and is gobbling up all the daily budget with a couple of clicks - so we're probably only appearing on google for a couple of hours.. if that. 

Options I'm stuck between:

1. Increase Budget

The obvious choice but I'm not sure if increasing the daily budget (within our allowance) will really make a difference so reluctant to just fling money at it. 

2. Remove/Amend Keyword

I'm more tempted to try this option, but at the same time I know a lot of people probably just type 'Plumbers' instead of 'Plumber in Fife' etc. Other keywords I currently have running like '+Local +Plumber' don't appear to be getting a look in cause the budget just disappears so it's difficult to tell whether should focus on them.

Any suggestions/advice would be great. 

Thanks in advance!

1 Expert replyverified_user

Re: Popular Keyword Eating All The Budget -- Help

Top Contributor
# 2
Top Contributor

Hi Ashely,

In your case, I would look into search term report for Selected keyword plumbers and will see what are search terms are getting clicks and conversions. 

If there are queries getting only clicks and eating budget and are non-relevant I would add them as negative, but if in case such queries are relevant I would add them in separate ad groups and test few new specific ad copy. If still those keywords won't work - would prefer to pause those.

Also I would add converting relevant search queries as my keyword either in exact or in phrase match. Depends on keyword and stats associated.