6.5K members online now
Improve your AdWords performance and boost your ROI, CTR, and Quality Score
Guide Me
star_border

Planning tool show all zero for any bid amount

N/A
# 1
N/A

I'm completely new to Adwords, and although I've read the background stuff and I think I understand the basic principles, I'm stumped by a startup problem. We want to try an initial test campaign in a small specialized field of software used exclusively by police departments. The relevant search terms we had in mind do show up with several thousand hits per week in the Google search stats, but when we try to create a campaign using them, the numbers (impressions, clicks, cpc etc.) just show 0 - 0 - 0 for any bid amount. How should I interpret that, and what should I do to remedy it?

1 Expert replyverified_user

Re: Planning tool show all zero for any bid amount

Top Contributor Alumni
# 2
Top Contributor Alumni

Good afternoon, and welcome to the AdWords Community!

First--past search history doesn't guarantee future performance for any keyword.

Now, with the disclaimers out of the way Smiley Happy let me ask if when you tested your keywords for volume, you were relying on the "local" search volume numbers?  If you were, understand that "local" in that context means the country you're in. If you've set your campaign's geotargeting to any smaller area, there may be little or no search traffic available. Or, the volume could be so uncertain that the tool is unable to make an estimate.

Also, these estimates tend to be optimistic. For instance, they assume that your keyword quality scores will be in the range of 7-10. If you've actually added these keywords to your campaign, check to see if your quality scores are in that range. If they are much lower, then you'll have to bid correspondingly higher to be competitive.