AdWords is now Google Ads. Our new name reflects the full range of advertising options we offer across Search, Display, YouTube, and more. Learn more

Ads
4.4K members online now
4.4K members online now
Improve your Google Ads performance and boost your ROI, CTR, and Quality Score
Guide Me
star_border

'Photography' or 'Photographer'

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Hi, I'm a commercial photographer using adwords for my business, a problem many of us professional photographers face is discouraging people from clicking on our ads who are only browsing for photographs, not in the market for a photographer, and the subtle difference between these two keywords is a big issue so I wondered what any other photographers thought about it.

Basically I would expect that anyone typing 'photographer' into a search is looking to hire a photographer.

But I'm not so sure about 'photography', people will definitely be typing it in who are just looking for photographs but many people who are looking for a photography might use the word photography, for example 'commercial photography in Cumbria' or 'photography business in Cumbria'.

So how do you approach this. Do you not bother to put photography as a keyword, or do you perhaps go even further and exclude it. I'd be interested to hear people's opinions.

2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions
Marked as Best Answer.
Solution
Accepted by Zee (Community Manager)
September 2015

Re: 'Photography' or 'Photographer'

Participant ✭ ☆ ☆
# 2
Participant ✭ ☆ ☆

Hello,

After reading your comments, one quick tip i want to give you is that check how transparent and well written are your ad texts. What message your ads texts are giving to users, Are they clearly describe what your services are and what your are offering to them. A well written ad text help you to aviod all those clicks which are irrelevant (If people think what you are offering are not of their interest, they will not click on your ads).