AdWords
4.7K members online now
4.7K members online now
Improve your AdWords performance and boost your ROI, CTR, and Quality Score
Guide Me
star_border

Not sure whether certain keywords and ads are doing me any good.

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Hi all, I'm a commercial photographer, one of the key challenges faced by photographers using adwords is discouraging clicks from people who are interested in just browsing pretty pictures, especially as I live close to a national park and people searching the name of my county are as likely to be tourists as they are locals. I'm a commercial photographer, I work with businesses for their advertising purposes, these are the only people I want clicking my ads.

The ad which is getting far and away the majority of clicks (19 of a total 30 in the last month) goes as follows:

Browse my Portfolio

Commercial Photographer,

Will McAllister, based in Cumbria

www.wmphoto.co.uk/photos.html

and links straight to my portfolio. I thought it was a good idea at the time, taking people straight to the main thing they will want to see before making a decision on who to hire and hitting potential customers with the attractive side of my business before they get to the pages with more text on them.

I was careful to place the word 'Commercial Photographer' prominently on the second line, thinking that this would be enough to stop tourists who are just looking for some nice scenery photos to ogle from clicking... you know sort of a 'here be photos of products, corporate portraits and commercial premises, not what you're looking for'

It also gets far more impressions,1284 of a total 1388 (although another ad has a higher click-through%), and the top performing keywords in that adgroup are:

• whitehaven photography
  • photography in cumbria
  • cumbria photographer
  • photographer cumbria

in that order. I have keywords in this adgroup with the word commercial in but these four outperform them.