6.4K members online now
Improve your AdWords performance and boost your ROI, CTR, and Quality Score
Guide Me
star_border

More or Less Keywords?

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
Hello: I am a general practice lawyer. Over the last few years about 99% of my clicks come from 2 keywords in my general practice ad group. I have about 1000 keywords in that ad group, and a general practice home page. Should I just concentrate on those 2 keywords or continue with the more blunderbuss list?
1 Expert replyverified_user
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Marked as Best Answer.
Solution
Accepted by topic author Michael S P
September 2015

Re: More or Less Keywords?

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 2
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
Hi Michael,

1002 keywords in a single ad group is a bit much. Even though the keywords that aren't getting clicks aren't costing you a defined dollar amount they are receiving impressions (i assume) which is bringing down your average click through rate. A good idea would be to have a separate ad group (or even campaign) with those two keywords while still keeping that large keyword list active. You can check the search terms of those two main keywords and add the relevant ones as keywords. When doing this you may realize that the two main keywords are bringing in many clicks from irrelevant queries. Try using different keyword match types if that is the case. Doing this should help you get a better idea of which keywords can bring in quality clicks at a cost that works for you.

View solution in original post

Marked as Best Answer.
Solution
Accepted by topic author Michael S P
September 2015

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 2
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
Hi Michael,