AdWords is now Google Ads. Our new name reflects the full range of advertising options we offer across Search, Display, YouTube, and more. Learn more

Ads
1.6K members online now
1.6K members online now
Improve your Google Ads performance and boost your ROI, CTR, and Quality Score
Guide Me
star_border

Lowering bid to increase profits creates a low quality score

Follower ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Follower ✭ ✭ ✭

I am a bit new to this game but here is my dilema.

Say I have £1200 to spend this week on AdWords. £200 of which i bid highly in my local area as the conversoin rate is very high.

The other £1000 is for the entire UK. Now lets say for the keywords I am targeting there is enough for me to fill my budget even when bidding low enough just to hit position 6. So instead of targeting the first few positions with a high CPC, I target a low position and get double the profit and my CPC was halfed.

The problem is that apparently because lower position have such a terrible CTR, my quality score can be seriously affected. That can apparently raise the price of the UK campaign on position 6 significantly, and also affect the entire account.

Can anyone advise me whether to make sure I stay in top few positions in order to maintain a better quality score, or whether to go after the most profitable venture, which is aiming for a lower position as anyway my budget is being reached.

Thanks a lot,

Merry Christmas.

2 Expert replyverified_user
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Marked as Best Answer.
Solution
Accepted by topic author Zevi S
September 2015

Re: Lowering bid to increase profits creates a low quality score

Collaborator ✭ ☆ ☆
# 11
Collaborator ✭ ☆ ☆
Hi,