6.7K members online now
Improve your AdWords performance and boost your ROI, CTR, and Quality Score
Guide Me
star_border

Let's talk about click fraud

Follower ✭ ☆ ☆
# 1
Follower ✭ ☆ ☆

I'm currently experiencing what I believe to be a very sophisticated case of click fraud. 

Click fraud is one of the most under-discussed subjects in the AdWords community. The majority of discussions on the subject, even by the authority blogs appear to stem around the most basic kind; what to do when a competitor idly clicks your ads, which isn't really an issue anyway. Googles own prevention does a good enough job at nipping this in the bud.

Though I had never experienced click fraud personally, at least not knowingly, I always wondered how often the scales would tip in favour of the fraudsters. Moments in time when their technology supersedes Googles defences. Much like hackers vs Norton and Mcafee.

I have been working in this specific niche for just over two years and have achieved very good, consistent results in a particularly aggressive niche. My competitors are Fortune 500 companies and so it goes without saying the reward for taking competitors out is HUGE.

The account is in good standing; 8-10 QS on all keywords, consistent 25-30% conversion rates. CPC, CPA, impression share etc are all healthy. 

The past month conversion rates have been suddenly tanking to ~10%. CR has dropped as low as 3% on some days, something I didn't think I'd ever see, not without a major on-site issue.

I have checked all the usual; tracking code, page speed, account history, landing pages, traffic volume, competitor offers, ad copy, increase in device specific traffic etc etc etc... I exhausted the possibilities before considering the possibility of foul play.