AdWords is now Google Ads. Our new name reflects the full range of advertising options we offer across Search, Display, YouTube, and more. Learn more

Ads
1.5K members online now
1.5K members online now
Improve your Google Ads performance and boost your ROI, CTR, and Quality Score
Guide Me
star_border

Keywords not allowing other keywords

[ Edited ]
Follower ✭ ☆ ☆
# 1
Follower ✭ ☆ ☆

Hi,

I'm a beginner and so for the start I put a general campaign with everything in a few ad groups. But based on best practices, I made a few changes:

I have the following ad group called "Exact" (examples for privacy reasons)

• +hello +italy
  • [hello italy]

Automated bidding places the bids for this adgroup at: $3.67 default bid - QS being 8/10

But then I have the older, more general and more broader ad group that has:

• hello italy people
  • why say hello italy
  • hello for italy
  • italy says hello
  • italy hello

Automated bidding places the bids for this adgroup at: $4.32 default bid - QS somewhere between 4-6

Problem is, I think I want the exact match adgroup to get as much traffic as possible because of high QS and high CTR. Except, the keywords are stopping each other because someone else is triggering something else and I'm losing my mind. I want more impressions and instead of having the broad match keywords doing all sorts of damage, I'd like the "Exact" adgroup to take over.

Another issue is the [hello italy] keyword in the exact adgroup says "This keyword is triggering other ads with a similar keyword: baby come travel" from Adgroup "Totally Different Keywords".

Disclaimer: All keywords listed are fakes to protect privacy but are meant to communicate the point

1 Expert replyverified_user

Re: Keywords not allowing other keywords

[ Edited ]
Follower ✭ ☆ ☆
# 2
Follower ✭ ☆ ☆