AdWords is now Google Ads. Our new name reflects the full range of advertising options we offer across Search, Display, YouTube, and more. Learn more

Ads
4.2K members online now
4.2K members online now
Improve your Google Ads performance and boost your ROI, CTR, and Quality Score
Guide Me
star_border

Keywords in adtext

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Does the google adwords policy allow to just post succesfull keywords in the adwords adtext? Also would that be beneficial to my ctr or would it drive people away since it wont be catchy? Im pretty new to this...so feel free to inform me.

4 Expert replyverified_user

Hi Paul,   I'm not sure I understand your question.  Are...

Google Employee
# 2
Google Employee

Hi Paul,

I'm not sure I understand your question.  Are you referring to the feature that automatically inserts the keyword that matched the user's query into your ad text?  What do you mean by "successful keywords"? 

Also would that be beneficial to my ctr or would it drive people away since it wont be catchy?

There's no definitive answer to this one.  It depends on how well it works in your market, how good a job you do of it, and so on.  At worst, you end up with ads like "Buy Dead Babies on eBay", which I guess is catchy (for some definitions of "catchy") but probably not what you want.  But if you have well-targeted, precise keywords I think it can work quite well.

Hopefully some of the Top Contributors and other advertisers on the forums will chime in on this.  Some of them have real experience using this feature rather than my purely theoretical knowledge.

Laura

AdWords engineer