AdWords is now Google Ads. Our new name reflects the full range of advertising options we offer across Search, Display, YouTube, and more. Learn more

Ads
4.4K members online now
4.4K members online now
Improve your Google Ads performance and boost your ROI, CTR, and Quality Score
Guide Me
star_border

If so many clicks from mobile devices are fake, why asume that...?

Follower ✭ ✭ ☆
# 1
Follower ✭ ✭ ☆

Hello,

First of all, happy holidays to everyone!

So, I am new with GDN, but not new to the search network (I love the search network). I am starting to learn and use more of the Display Network and one of the first things I noticed is how many 'fake' or 'non-related' clicks I am getting to my site from mobile apps.

I know I can simply disable those clicks, but my question is more about the psychology of the DN and why those people are clicking those links if they want nothing to do with the ad. In that sense, why should I assume that the rest of the DN will behave differently? 

I see a lot of potential on the DN but until I understand why I was getting so many clicks from people who didn't want to click on my ad its hard to me to invest more money expecting different results, event if I don't target mobile apps anymore.

any light on this will be appreciated,

Thanks!

3 Expert replyverified_user
2 ACCEPTED SOLUTIONS

Accepted Solutions
Marked as Best Answer.
Solution
Accepted by topic author Yakito
September 2015

Re: If so many clicks from mobile devices are fake, why asume that...?

Top Contributor
# 2
Top Contributor

Hi there;

As you said - from a philosophical  POV:  - if your ad is attractive - then people like to "check and explore" by clicking on the ad when they see it while surfing the internet.

Thus, one of the main objectives when setting a campaign on DN is to find the exact relevant  audience(s) to target and to structure a campaign to target  these audiences.