3.4K members online now
Improve your AdWords performance and boost your ROI, CTR, and Quality Score
Guide Me
star_border

If I have 2 same keywords in different campaigns

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

If I have 2 same keywords in different campaigns, one as an exact match and the other as a broad match, am I degrading my account performance? I have done this to have better control on the bids and average position of the exact match keyword. Because I didn't want to loose impression on related terms I added the broad match keyword in another campaign with the exact match negative.

I am new to adwords.

Am I doing it wrong? Does this work?

3 Expert replyverified_user

Re: If I have 2 same keywords in different campaigns

Follower ✭ ✭ ✭
# 2
Follower ✭ ✭ ✭
Hi
I would not have different keywords in different ad groups never mind in different campaigns. If you want to know how each one will perform individually without the other working then pause one and test one and then vice versa and then compare this against having both of them running at the same time. If you tell me more details on your account i can help you
Marked as Best Answer.
Solution
Accepted by MosheTLV (Top Contributor)
September 2015

Top Contributor
# 3
Top Contributor

Hello,

Why do you have same keyword with different match type in different campaigns? Is it because you have different campaigns based on keyword match types ; like Phrase campaign, Broad campaign and Exact campaign?

I would look at 2 different perspectives here: One would be using similar match type keywords within a single campaign and based on the stats, focus on that match type which gives you good ROI.

Second would be creating separate campaigns for separate match types but using embedded negative matches. Like in Broad campaign adding phrase and exact matches as negatives and in Phrase campaign, adding Exact matches as negatives.

What strategy are you following in your account?