Improve your AdWords performance and boost your ROI, CTR, and Quality Score
Guide Me
star_border

How long before I should worry about cost per conversion

Follower ✭ ☆ ☆
# 1
Follower ✭ ☆ ☆

Hi guys

I wonder if someone would be able to give me some advice please.

I am new to adwords and have set up a campaign advertising a branded product that is fairly niche in the UK.  The product sells for £10 and costs me £6.50 to purchase.

My account has only been running for about 7 days, I am measuring conversions as a sale only, however I am getting email addresses too which I am not yet tracking in adwords or analyrics - I intend to sort this out tomorrow.

CTR seems respectable at around 1.9%   However my conversion rate appears a little low at 0.60% and Cost/Conversion is £53.74.

I think the conversion could be negatively affected as I don't have the range of products I would like to have in stock, this will improve over the coming weeks, but even so the Cost / conversion is still way too high to be sustainable for any long period.

I anticipated I would need to spend some money to gather information but my question is should I now be taking steps to reduce my cost per conversion?

1 Expert replyverified_user

Re: How long before I should worry about cost per conversion

Badged Google Partner
# 2
Badged Google Partner
Michael F,

Simple answer YES. Any business has to consider their Cost of conversion and ROI numbers with any advertisement program or Business in General.

Your margins are pretty slim based on your data, therefore you really have to find your perfect ROI position to make this a sustainable model.

If your product is consumable, and you are capturing email addresses, then you can consider your advertisement as long term customer acquisition and factor your ROI with email marketing and sales from that source in which Adwords fills that Email marketing funnel with names.

The main thing is ALWAYS factor your ROI's in any business situation.