AdWords
5.4K members online now
5.4K members online now
Improve your AdWords performance and boost your ROI, CTR, and Quality Score
Guide Me
star_border

Google Grant spends the whole budget by 7am. What am I doing wrong?

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Let me lay out the situation. We are a  very small minority human rights org and we have a Google Grant. Transgender human rights. Therefore we figured we need a lot of broad search terms and so on for our keywords. We are not selling products like some brand of camera, so we have to target broad.

We've had this grant for a while and we never maxed out the $330 a day spend. For months and months it was lucky to hit $60 a day in budget spend. Then last week I decided to start learning how to use adwords. I'm very new to this, don't know much, so I just made some new ads and added hundreds more keywords and I managed to increase clicks five fold and reach the $330 a day budget every day.

My problem is that it powers through the money by 7am pacific time. I would like in theory I guess, for people to be able to the see our ads all the time. I guess we could have used one of those 40k a month enhanced google grants before they canceled the program. Anyway, I tried ad scheduling, and doing it for an hour at breakfast east coast and west coast times, and then turning off the ads all day, and then having a six hour block in prime time at night and late night.

This led to the ad spend only reaching like 150 a day for several days. It was around 150 whether I had the ad the campaigns set to spread the ads evenly over time, or accelarated.

It seems the only way I can hit the 330 a day is to power through it all by 7am. What can I do?

I have all the keywords set to 2 bucks max CPC as the Google Grant rules stipulate is the limit.

If I bidded lower for keywords, the money would last longer I assume, but I would get a different audience? people who click through on ads on the 3rd page or 2nd page or something?