Improve your AdWords performance and boost your ROI, CTR, and Quality Score
Guide Me
star_border

Geo targeting/ location targeting

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Hi,

I have been using AdWords for a few years now and know my around pretty well.

However, today I was putting a campaign together and started thinking about the targeting options and came to a dead end of my knowledge (or is this a flaw in the AdWords system?)

Basically, I want to target the keywords themed around "vehicle hire Brisbane" (the "" does not indicate phrase match. The campaign would be targeted to Australia and would be set to (People in, searching for or viewing pages about my targeted location) in advanced settings. 

Now the issues I am having is if someone in say California searches for one of my keywords themed around the above on Google.com would they see my ad? Now technically, they should be served my ad as that person is doing a search about my location and service. However, there is also another Brisbane in California, so would Google show my ad and any other ad (if there are any) or would it only show mine. Would they have to included the Keyword "Australia" in the search query too for my ad to trigger? Would they only serve my ads in relation to search terms that include locations that exist in Australia only and assume the Peron is searching for their counties term if they leave out Australia or Queensland?? Would they need to be on Google.com.au?

The only mention about an ad not being served to another country is when you set the advanced setting to (People searching for or viewing pages about my targeted location), so my ad should serve to people in any country as long as they are searching for my terms.

Any advice would be much appreciate

3 Expert replyverified_user

Re: Geo targeting/ location targeting

Top Contributor Alumni
# 2
Top Contributor Alumni

Hi mraron and welcome,