AdWords is now Google Ads. Our new name reflects the full range of advertising options we offer across Search, Display, YouTube, and more. Learn more

Ads
1.5K members online now
1.5K members online now
Improve your Google Ads performance and boost your ROI, CTR, and Quality Score
Guide Me
star_border

GDN: huge decrease in impressions, clicks, cost

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Hi all,

I'm pretty new to GDN so wondering what to check here: my GDN campaigns have changed overnight drastically. 

Clicks went from being between 800-1400 for the last 15 days to just 38 clicks yesterday. 

Impressions went from around 1,000,000 for the last 15 days to around 116,000 impressions yesterday.

Average position did go from 1.5 to 2.4 so I guess a competitor is bidding against me, but does that explain why even the impressions are only 16% of what it used to be?

I did not make any changes to the campaigns in the past 7 days, and it is not being restricted on budget.

Confused as to what could have caused this? Any help/suggestions are very much appreciated!

Thanks,

Levina

1 Expert replyverified_user
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Marked as Best Answer.
Solution
Accepted by topic author Levina D
September 2015

Re: GDN: huge decrease in impressions, clicks, cost

Top Contributor
# 2
Top Contributor
Hi Levina,
This is a great question and actually, you did indeed answer it yourself. The key here is in the average position. Remember, on the display network, unless your ad is being shown in a standard text unit (and sometimes when it is depending on ad rank), it's usually (these days) the ad with the number 1 position that ONLY shows in the unit. This is especially true for image ads for obvious reasons.

So, if your image ad is not in position 1, it's likely that it's not being shown.