AdWords is now Google Ads. Our new name reflects the full range of advertising options we offer across Search, Display, YouTube, and more. Learn more

Ads
3.9K members online now
3.9K members online now
Improve your Google Ads performance and boost your ROI, CTR, and Quality Score
Guide Me
star_border

Feeling frustrated

[ Edited ]
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Hi,

I run a travel website where I sell tours on a commission basis (average of 15%, per sale).

Over the last three months I spent $3000 on Google Adwords ads. I studied Adwords techniques and took two online courses. I also hired an Adwords agency to manage my account. During those three months I generated $1000 in sales. So for every $3 I spent I earned $1 in sales. My capital has now run out and I can no longer afford to run a Google Adwords campaign. I would be tempted to conclude that Google Adwords is too expensive for someone making only 15% commission. Except for the fact that I regularly see the ads of a competitor who I know is making no more than 20% commission. If Google Ads was not profitable for him, he wouldn't still be doing it. I would like to reverse engineer his Adwords strategy. Any ideas on how I might do this?

2 Expert replyverified_user
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Marked as Best Answer.
Solution
Accepted by topic author Michael S
November 2016

Re: Feeling frustrated

Top Contributor
# 4
Top Contributor