AdWords is now Google Ads. Our new name reflects the full range of advertising options we offer across Search, Display, YouTube, and more. Learn more

Ads
4.3K members online now
4.3K members online now
Improve your Google Ads performance and boost your ROI, CTR, and Quality Score
Guide Me
star_border

Explain like I'm a complete noob: Placement targeting "bid only"

Follower ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Follower ✭ ✭ ✭

Suppose I have a GDN only campaign where im targeting by age, gender, interest, and keywords.

Suppose i have these targetings

- interest: target and bid

- placement: bid only

What does this mean? Does this mean that adwords will show an ad IF the user meets the age, gender, and interest... but not placement? 

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Marked as Best Answer.
Solution
Accepted by topic author taewoo
June 2016

Re: Explain like I'm a complete noob: Placement targeting "bid only"

[ Edited ]
Follower ✭ ✭ ✭
# 2
Follower ✭ ✭ ✭

Target and bid, means that a user MUST fit that category for AdWords to serve an ad. So, if you set
Interest: Outdoor Sports
all to Target and Bid, then AdWords will only serve an ad for someone that fits into all three of those categories. It's a way to make sure your targeting is very narrow.

If you add placement targeting as bid only, then you're telling AdWords to use a certain bid for a placement. So, the user will still be restricted by your other categories, but ads can show on any placement. You would use this if you didn't want to restrict the placements, but maybe there are a few websites that you want to bid really high for because you know they are highly relevant sites.

View solution in original post

Marked as Best Answer.
Solution
Accepted by topic author taewoo
June 2016

[ Edited ]
Follower ✭ ✭ ✭
# 2
Follower ✭ ✭ ✭

Target and bid, means that a user MUST fit that category for AdWords to serve an ad. So, if you set
Interest: Outdoor Sports