AdWords
3.6K members online now
3.6K members online now
Improve your AdWords performance and boost your ROI, CTR, and Quality Score
Guide Me
star_border

Change of website URL - Best way to do this so not to effect my Adwords?

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Hi Guys

I hope you can help. I am wanting to change my url to a more relevant one. I have been running an adwords campaign for 2 Years on my old URL. What is the best way to transfer with having a big impact on my campaign? Thanks 

4 Expert replyverified_user

Re: Change of website URL - Best way to do this so not to effect my Adwords?

Rising Star
# 2
Rising Star
Hi Rick,

When you say "old URL" do you mean that all of your paid search traffic lands on one page? Or do you mean that you are switching domains and thus you are using a number of unique landing pages?
Jim Vaillancourt, AdWords Rising Star, LinkedIn
Was my response helpful? If yes, please mark it as the ‘Best Answer.’ Learn how here.

Top Contributor
# 3
Top Contributor

@petebardo has a neat methodology for the migration 

Moshe, AdWords Top Contributor , Twitter | Linkedin | Community Profile | Ad-Globe
Did you find any helpful responses or answers to your query? If yes, please mark it as the ‘Best Answer’

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 4
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
Hi Jim
I sell hand dryers. My current URL is www.blowmotion.co.uk. Its not great for organic SEO so I have been advised to migrate the website to blowmotionhanddryers.co.uk in order to assist organic search. How will this effect Adwords as its a whole new domain...

Rising Star
# 5
Rising Star

If the content is exactly the same between the old and new sites then the updated domain should not have a negative effect on AdWords. If the content is different then you would need to be concerned about declines in quality scores and be thoughtful of updating URL paths for pages outside of the homepage.