Improve your AdWords performance and boost your ROI, CTR, and Quality Score
Guide Me
star_border

Change of business name and domain

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Hello everyone,

I am about to rename my business and am wondering if I should keep my current adwords account for the new name, or open another. 

I have been operating my current adwords account continuously for about 3 years and many of my keywords now have a quality score of 6-8. They have built to this level from a low starting point of often 2-3's. Most of the problem seems to have been that my early websites were made in Apple's iWeb - when a new site was made in Wordpress the quality scores jumped dramatically and instantly. I bid high enough in my niche to get around a 90% ad exposure rate - my click-through is about 1.8% (the click through has been fairly constant over the life of the account).

So I have a history - which in the early days wasn't great, as I experimented and made mistakes. On what I know now the new site will not make the same mistakes as the old. The new site will have a lot of the same content as the old and be targeting the same keywords as the old campaigns.

But my business name will have changed from ABCD Ltd to WXYZ ltd and I will be closing down my old domain to be replaced by the new XWYZ.com domain. So now, some questions:

1.  Can I change the name of the adwords account from ABCD to WXYZ? Or do I need to open a new account as WXYZ?

2. If I can retain the old account with a new name, should I do that? Or am I better to simply open a new account and build the quality scores afresh - without the mistakes I made in the old account? 

3. If I should open a new account can I transfer credit from my old account to the new? For tax reasons I prepaid quite a chunk of credit into the account. 

The crux of my issues revolves around the quality scores and whether it is worth trying to preserve what i have or start over again and perhaps end up with an even better result.