AdWords is now Google Ads. Our new name reflects the full range of advertising options we offer across Search, Display, YouTube, and more. Learn more

Ads
2.9K members online now
2.9K members online now
Improve your Google Ads performance and boost your ROI, CTR, and Quality Score
Guide Me
star_border

CPA is going up because I've saturated my niche. Any ideas on what to do?

Follower ✭ ✭ ☆
# 1
Follower ✭ ✭ ☆

I have three separate projects (in different markets) that I've been running for several years.

The basic business model is lead generation, but not for a sales funnel. It's for user signups for niche social websites.

Over time (a span of 5 years), I noticed that my actual CPA has increased threefold. So I checked the stats over longer time frames. Like a bird's-eye view. Not individual keywords, placements, ads, etc. but the big picture.

CPC is stable. CTR is stable. Relative CTR is good. Avg Position is stable. All key metrics are stable, except for conversion rate. CR has been steadily going down month after month. And with a constant CPC, decrease in CR means increase in CPA.

I couldn't figure out what's wrong, but then it hit me to check the actual signups.

Turns out, about half of people who try to sign up are already signed up. On any given day, half of the people who come from Adwords to my landing page and try to sign up enter the e-mail address that is already in my system.

I use negative remarketing lists to prevent my ads from being shown to active users. If someone is my user and is visiting my website regularly, then they are in this remarketing list. And all Adwords campaigns have that list as a negative.

The problem is, half of those signups are actually from inactive users. They joined a long time ago. Then, they abandoned their accounts. So they are not in any of my remarketing lists.