6.3K members online now
Improve your AdWords performance and boost your ROI, CTR, and Quality Score
Guide Me
star_border

Automatic placements - dictionary.com?

Follower ✭ ☆ ☆
# 1
Follower ✭ ☆ ☆

I'm just getting started with the display network and so far I have two campaigns set up. A "discovery" campaign with a few ad groups, all with auto placements based on various keywords/topics/interests, and a managed placement campaign that's targeted exclusively to a couple sites I've found to have high CTR and conversion rates.

I've been monitoring the auto-placements for relevency and high-performers, but I've found kind of a puzzler...."dictionary.com". I'm getting a relatively high CTR for the site, but I can't imagine that it's relevant...it's an account advertising fairly expensive B2B software in a pretty niche market.

Anyone else have a similar experience? Is there a way to dive a little deeper to get the exact URL of the placement page, possibly in GA?

Thanks in advance!

1 Expert replyverified_user

Re: Automatic placements - dictionary.com?

Follower ✭ ☆ ☆
# 2
Follower ✭ ☆ ☆
Never mind on the exact URL issue, I figured it out.
I also found that the bounce rate is 100% - so despite the high CTR they aren't good placements. Can't imagine what is prompting all the clicks though?
Marked as Best Answer.
Solution
Accepted by MosheTLV (Top Contributor)
September 2015

Re: Automatic placements - dictionary.com?

Top Contributor
# 3
Top Contributor

Hi S-Klep,

The position where your ad appears on the plcement website is a very important factor in CTR on display network.

So if your ads are appearing on a place where it is very easy to get visitor attention your ads will get more clicks.

I can see text ads on every page of the site you mentioned, almost blended with site content (another strategy publishing sites adopt to improve CTR).