4K members online now
Improve your AdWords performance and boost your ROI, CTR, and Quality Score
Guide Me
star_border

Adwords Matching Location Intent To Wrong Campaigns - Buggy

Follower ✭ ✭ ☆
# 1
Follower ✭ ✭ ☆

So I've been managing multiple accounts for a few years now and I've experimented with all sorts of optimization techniques and account structures.  I'm seeing a troubling occurrence in more than once account I manage.  I brought this up to Adwords Support and they couldn't give me an answer why it was happening (it was an uphill battle, even with links to screen shots, making them even understand the issue!)

Here's an example of the issue.  

Campaign Seattle - Location targeting is INTENT ONLY, and Seattle, WA USA is the only location included.

Campaign Bellevue - Location targeting is INTENT ONLY, and Bellevue, WA USA is the only location included.

First scenario is Campaign Seattle has an Ad Group with "Bellevue" as part of the keyword.  Doing an Ad Preview with location set to a different city (location doesn't matter on intent campaigns anyway), the search "somekeyword in bellevue, wa" was matching to the Campaign SEATTLE intent - this is EVEN THOUGH, the Ad Preview Page states "Because your query included location terms, ads matching this location are shown: Bellevue, Washington, United States"  The keyword in the Seattle campaign it was matching two had the word 'Bellevue' in it.  (Yes, I know, it is odd to put a city name as a keyword in an intent campaign that is outside the location target for that campaign but that should not matter as far as the Campaign location target settings matching or not matching!)