Improve your AdWords performance and boost your ROI, CTR, and Quality Score
Guide Me
star_border

Advice to increase impressions

Follower ✭ ✭ ☆
# 1
Follower ✭ ✭ ☆

Hi All,

I have been managing the same account for over 6 years and I am looking for ways to improve..

I am just looking back at 2013, I had many more broad match keywords back then, which I used the search query report for to identify which phrases were converting well for us - I then pulled this phrases out, set them up in their own ad group as phrase matches and paused the broad match keyword.

These broad match keywords were proving to not be cost effective so it made sense to pause them and bid on the phrases which had converted for us.

These phrases just don't seem to be getting the traffic they used to though - so when they were being triggered by a broad match keyword we got a lot more traffic for them but now we are actually bidding on that exact phrase on phrase match it doesn't seem to work as well.

Has anyone got any advice for me, I'm not sure what to do really.

Thanks,

Laura

1 Expert replyverified_user

Re: Advice to increase impressions

Top Contributor
# 2
Top Contributor

Hi Laura, unfortunately your situation is not uncommon and it's a problem we all face from time to time.  Broad match Keywords pull in the traffic but can be costly, tighter matches are more efficient but can seriously restrict traffic.  Some things I'd look at:

#1 - Your post says you're looking for more impressions but is there any opportunity for more clicks by increasing CTR?  I'd be looking closely at my Ads, using multiple variations and trying out some new ones (even if the old ones appear OK).  Just a 1% rise in CTR from 1000 impressions a day is another 300 clicks a month, so little changes can have a big impact.