AdWords is now Google Ads. Our new name reflects the full range of advertising options we offer across Search, Display, YouTube, and more. Learn more

AdWords Express
1.8K members online now
1.8K members online now
Make the most out of your AdWords Express campaigns
Guide Me
star_border

Ad positionining

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Greetings, I'm a business owner and complete novice in all of this. Recently, I set up an AdWord Express ad with a fairly large budget of $400 a month. However, it is only showing up at the bottom of Google search results, while my competitors are at the top. Why is this? Thanks, kindly. 

1 Expert replyverified_user

Ad positionining

Top Contributor
# 2
Top Contributor

Hi Charles,

There are several reasons why this could be happening. 

They could be spending more than you. They could be using AdWords (big brother to Adwords Express) and they could have a higher quality score, more advanced targeting methods set up (like bids set to first place), better ad copy, better website, etc..

How new is your account? This can affect performance since a new account has to be assimilated and understood. 

Are you in a highly-competitive industry or one that is more of a niche? This can matter and your competitors may be spending $4000 monthly and paying a advertising agency another $1500 monthly to mange the website and ads. 

Please keep in mind that just because your ads are seen sometimes at the bottom of the page, this does not mean they are always. The system will try different placements to see what brings the best result for the searcher (consumer). What we do as businesses and advertiser is feed options to the system so we can possibly be the best match to the consumer's request.  

If the system pushes you ads heavily at the top of the page and they do not gain clicks... guess what it does? It rotates yours to a new placement and brings in something different to see if that is what the consumers want.