AdWords is now Google Ads. Our new name reflects the full range of advertising options we offer across Search, Display, YouTube, and more. Learn more

My Business
1.8K members online now
1.8K members online now
Has someone else verified your business? Learn how to recover ownership
Guide Me
star_border

Small Business Directory Association

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

I have been receiving phone call after phone call, for 17 months, from a business called Small Business Directory Association.  They are wanting to verify my google listing, for a fee of course.    I was also told that they handle all of the accounts smaller than a Starbucks, Google only handles Fortune 500 companies themselves.

As I left the conversation today, uncomfortably, I was informed that my company will no longer be found on Google Search or Google.com since I elected to do more research before committing to their terms and payment.

Are they a legitimate business partner of Google?

Please advise if this is an avenue I should pursue, or report.  Thank you.

Donna

Total Lawn Care, Inc.

Garden Gems Greenhouse

602 S. June St.

Jerseyville,  IL 62052

618-498-7333

www.tlc-inc.biz

www.gardengems4you.com

1 Expert replyverified_user
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Marked as Best Answer.
Solution
Accepted by MargaretO (Top Contributor)
October

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 2
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Don't worry. These people are scammers.

View solution in original post

Marked as Best Answer.
Solution
Accepted by MargaretO (Top Contributor)
October

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 2
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Don't worry. These people are scammers.

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 3
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Donna,

You are right to feel uncomfortable, as this is absolutely a scam. Google does not require payment for your business listing, and does not utilize third party providers or "partners" to manage My Business services.