My Business
4.9K members online now
4.9K members online now
Has someone else verified your business? Learn how to recover ownership
Guide Me
star_border
Reply

How to get rid of a business map listing without access to the account?

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

We had a past franchisee create a business listing in a location where we now have a new owner who has a new address and different contact information. The new owner has created his own business profile which is showing correctly on the map search, however we want to find a way to get rid of the old one. 

 
I've 'Suggested an Edit' and recommended it be removed, because I've exhausted all avenues of contacting the past franchisee whose Google account this is likely associated with, but he had no luck either / couldn't find it.
 
Is there anything else I can do to aid this process?
1 Expert replyverified_user

How to get rid of a business map listing without access to the account?

Top Contributor
# 2
Top Contributor

Sorry @Scott M

 

you can't just get rid of a listing even in case having access to the account.

Removing it from the account will remove it from your acount of course - but will very unlikely remove it from Google>

 

Learn more reading the first couple of lines in here:

https://support.google.com/business/answer/4669092?hl=en

 

YOur best choice is reporting such listings as permanently closed.

 

 

_________________________________________________________________________
Helmut Geissler, Google My Business Top Contributor   |  my G+ profile

Re: How to get rid of a business map listing without access to the account?

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 3
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
Ok, thank you.

I guess I'm looking for the best recommendation moving forward then on how
to manage conflicts between having an old listing and new listing within
the same area of Burlington, ON. The old listing has an incorrect address
and has listed services as Window Cleaning. While in reality the business
has a new address and we are strictly in the business of Painting.

Given I can't get access to the google account associated with the old
Business Listing, am I best off simply requesting these changes? It still
doesn't resolve the confusion that can exist when it comes to requesting
that client leave reviews, etc.

Any further help, greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

Scott