AdWords is now Google Ads. Our new name reflects the full range of advertising options we offer across Search, Display, YouTube, and more. Learn more

My Business
4.7K members online now
4.7K members online now
Has someone else verified your business? Learn how to recover ownership
Guide Me
star_border
Reply

Desired custom URL was already in use by another account that I control

[ Edited ]
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Our business had two Google+ pages created with two different accounts.  I deleted all of the products and then the actual Google account for one of the duplicates.  I want to use the custom URL that was used by the account that I deleted.  Even though the duplicate Google+ page and the account used to create it have been deleted, I'm still asked to "add a few characters" to the end of the URL for the remaining page.  Why is this and how can I fix it?  I want the custom URL to be just the business name.

Screen Shot 2016-08-28 at 4.46.09 PM.png

 

 

Datwyler Orthodontics

3907 Park Dr. #240

El Dorado Hills, CA 95762

(916) 939-2330

https://plus.google.com/u/0/b/115742562010081943850/115742562010081943850/about

1 Expert replyverified_user
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Marked as Best Answer.
Solution
Accepted by topic author Tony T
August 2016

Re: Desired custom URL was already in use by another account that I control

Top Contributor
# 2
Top Contributor
this isn't really a GMB related question as managing "customer" URls is G+ matter.
But I can tell you that an accepted custom URL doesn't get "released" for new G+ purposes if the page having gotten the custom URL got deleted.
_________________________________________________________________________
Helmut Geissler, Google My Business Top Contributor   |  my G+ profile

View solution in original post

Marked as Best Answer.
Solution
Accepted by topic author Tony T
August 2016

Re: Desired custom URL was already in use by another account that I control

Top Contributor
# 2
Top Contributor
this isn't really a GMB related question as managing "customer" URls is G+ matter.
But I can tell you that an accepted custom URL doesn't get "released" for new G+ purposes if the page having gotten the custom URL got deleted.
_________________________________________________________________________
Helmut Geissler, Google My Business Top Contributor   |  my G+ profile