AdWords
4.9K members online now
4.9K members online now
Learn how to reach mobile device users, drive phone calls, and increase app installs
Guide Me
star_border

Call Only Ads = 80% Invalid Click Rate - Google Refuses to Fix

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

I specialize in driving phone calls to drug and alcohol addiction treatment centers. I've been running ads on my account for the past 6 months, spending $50k+ per month. Until about 2 months ago, Call-Only ads were serving wonderfully. On average the invalid click rate was less than 20% on all campaigns. Starting around the beginning of April, the invalid click rate has exploded across the account. Now getting as high as 95%, but across the account it's 80%. Eighty Percent.

Now I realize Google has algorithms that detect invalid activity and doesn't charge you for them. Even if their initial sweep doesn't pick up everything, they sweep the account a second time and add credits to the billing section if anything is detected. 

The problem is that with an invalid click rate so high my budgets explode every 20 min or so to 2x the actual budget, causing ads to not serve until Google sweeps the account and deems the clicks invalid, the clicks are removed, and my budget can reset. This is causing major ad delivery problems.

I've spoke to Google on the phone about this issue at the minimum of 10x. They say they can't do anything about it. Um what? You can't prevent fraud on your own platform?

How can anyone even use this ad type if they can't control the bot situation (it's certainly bots, as the CTR is 100% and I don't ever see a phone call)?

Has anyone else seen invalid click rates this high? What do you do about it? Obviously I can't get IPs and block them, as it's impossible to get an IP from a phone number (no calls hit my line anyways).

I find Google's response completely unsatisfactory to the situation. 

1 Expert replyverified_user

Top Contributor
# 2
Top Contributor