Small Business
2K members online now
2K members online now
We're talking about all things marketing; learn how to put the web to work for your business, and find information about all aspects of marketing your business here.
Guide Me
star_border

Youtube URL prior to launch

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Hi all, 

I'm a bestselling travel author, launching a new book in September with an extensive companion site and Youtube channel with 60+ videos.  I'm trying to claim my URL, have followed the verification steps, and Webmaster Central says my site is verified.  

But the option to customize my Youtube URL does not appear.  Prior to launch, I only have about two dozen subscribers, but I expect hundreds if not thousands to follow once I can promote the correct URL when the book launches.  The problem is I need to add the Youtube channel URL to the print copy of the book (youtube.com/globalbucketlist) to point people in the right direction, but I don't have the option to claim that URL, so how could I possibly count on using it in the books and pre-launch marketing materials?

If Coca Cola was launching a new product, am I to believe they wouldn't be able to launch with a branded URL Youtube channel simply because they don't have 100 subscribers yet? 

The whole process seems impossibly convoluted, and doesn't encourage one to use Youtube as a marketing tool at all.     

Can anyone help? 

1 Expert replyverified_user

Re: Youtube URL prior to launch

Top Contributor
# 2
Top Contributor

Hi @The Great G,

I understand your frustration with the process and can only suggest a few things to see if it helps you. 

To get a custom URL for your channel, your account needs to meet these requirements:

• Have 100 or more subscribers
  • Be at least 30 days old
  • Have an uploaded photo as channel icon
  • Have uploaded channel art