Small Business
2K members online now
2K members online now
We're talking about all things marketing; learn how to put the web to work for your business, and find information about all aspects of marketing your business here.
Guide Me
star_border

Still not appearing in Google Search...

[ Edited ]
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Hi, I am a small domestic renovations company. I've been trading on word of mouth for about 5 years, but want more inquiries. I've created a website, and been aware of SEO by Alt tagging all images etc. I have also registerd with Google My Business and had many reviews left by happy customers. 

However, when I type in 'Bathroom Design Exeter' my business is nowhere to be seen. There are loads of businesses with tenuous links to this apperaing, including one that's closed down over 10 years ago!!! Please help me to get on the top of the list!!!!

2 Expert replyverified_user
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Marked as Best Answer.
Solution
Accepted by topic author gareth p
August

[ Edited ]
Explorer ✭ ✭ ☆
# 5
Explorer ✭ ✭ ☆

Hi @David L and @Gareth P

This is not really a 'problem', but more of an example of how Google works (and there is a lot more to SEO than just alt tagging a few images Smiley Happy ).

This question has been answered in other forums and comes up a bit, but allow me to respond again here.

There are two possible cases:

1. If your business listing has been verified and you search for your exact business name or phone number, your listing should appear.

2. If you search for a business category or keywords related to your business - or category, location (for example 'bathroom Design Exeter') your business listing may not appear. How Google determines which businesses appear in the second case is decided from over 200 factors, some of which (in the map display) may be weighted towards location. As far as I'm aware, having a high number of reviews does not mean you will rank higher.