AdWords is now Google Ads. Our new name reflects the full range of advertising options we offer across Search, Display, YouTube, and more. Learn more

Ads
5.2K members online now
5.2K members online now
For questions related to Google Shopping and Merchant Center. Learn to optimize your Shopping ads
Guide Me
star_border

What to do if all products do not have MPN or GTIN?

Follower ✭ ☆ ☆
# 1
Follower ✭ ☆ ☆

Hi, I am new in Google Shopping.

The company I work for is a reseller of furnishings products. We have an e-commerce website and we are advertising through AdWords. We want to start advertising through Google Shopping but we have encountered some problems I'd like to ask help for.

The company headquarters is out of USA and our supplier do not have  a GTIN or mpn for our products. Should I list all my products as ‘identifier exists’ to 'FALSE' ? is there a limit of products that can be listed as such?

2 Expert replyverified_user

Re: What to do if all products do not have MPN or GTIN?

Participant ✭ ✭ ✭
# 2
Participant ✭ ✭ ✭
Hi,
Yes you have to use ‘identifier exists’ to 'FALSE' and there is no limit of number of products.

Thanks

Follower ✭ ☆ ☆
# 3
Follower ✭ ☆ ☆
Thank you.
I am just concerned because I read that if one abuse of this identifier could result in ban of the feed.

Top Contributor
# 4
Top Contributor
If you don't have GTIN or MPN then setting ‘identifier exists’ to 'FALSE' is the only option you have, and it is the correct one.

[ Edited ]
Follower ✭ ☆ ☆
# 5
Follower ✭ ☆ ☆

A (short term) solution for items that do not have GTIN (UPC) or MPN (SKU) is to use false MPN.
I do this for thousands of products on new feeds until I get the SKU loaded to match the product id.
I create common identifiers with unique MPN values for each item id.

Items that are mass produced should have a MPN value. Items that are unique, one of a kind should use a FALSE identifier. Use at your discretion.

Top Contributor
# 6
Top Contributor