AdWords is now Google Ads. Our new name reflects the full range of advertising options we offer across Search, Display, YouTube, and more. Learn more

Ads
4.7K members online now
4.7K members online now
For questions related to Google Shopping and Merchant Center. Learn to optimize your Shopping ads
Guide Me
star_border

Google Policy Violation and Support Team Incompetent

[ Edited ]
Follower ✭ ✭ ☆
# 1
Follower ✭ ✭ ☆

Hello Forum

I'm here mainly to vent about Google Merchant Center Policies and the way the Policy Team poorly handled my client's account. I am a paid search account manager who worked both in-house and for agencies. For many years, I have had great experiences with Google Adwords Support Team. However this time around I'm really lost for words and hopefully the community can help or give me some suggestions and insights.

A client of mine - a vitamin and supplement eCommerce retailer with 30 thousand SKUs received an account suspension warning email from google. I immedately contacted Adwords Support Team and they made suggestion to remove certain disapproved products before the deadline date. These disapproved products had always been in the account. We even called Adwords Support team a year ago, asking them if it's okay to have disapproved ads in the feed? Their answer: "It's perfectly okay.In fact, this way when shopping policies change, previous disabled ads will get re-enabled again!" Apparently now this is not the case. Google Support told us to remove ALL the disapproved products in the feed. So we did. Every last one of them. And we even called back on the day of the deadline to double check and see if anything else needs to be done. The Support person told us that our account looks perfect! That very afternoon, the account got suspended.