AdWords is now Google Ads. Our new name reflects the full range of advertising options we offer across Search, Display, YouTube, and more. Learn more

Analytics
5.3K members online now
5.3K members online now
Learn how to set up goals and Ecommerce tracking, verify accuracy of attribution traffic sources, and discuss funnel visualization, Multi-Channel Funnels, the Goal Flow Report, and Enhanced Ecommerce

Guide Me
star_border

How to start with Analytics

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Hi all,

I’m completely new to Google Analytics and I had a plan in mind how I want to start tracking my data from third parties platforms, but before doing so I would like to ask the experts here for feedback.

For the UTM codes:

Campaign source:                            Platform (Facebook, Yahoo, BING)
Campaign medium:                         Type of advert (Video ad, text ad, banner)
Campaign name:                              The actual campaign name
Campaign content:                          Topic of the advertisement
Campaign term:                                                Name of the ad

I would also like the track the type of traffic (search, social, display), age and gender, however I seem to be running out of standard parameters. Can I just create my own ones? utm_age / utm_gender? 

And if I can’t are there any (preferably) free tools that can do this?

Thanks in advance,
Bram

2 Expert replyverified_user
1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Marked as Best Answer.
Solution
Accepted by topic author Bram D
November 2015

Re: How to start with Analytics

Top Contributor
# 8
Top Contributor
Hi Bram,

this is set within channel grouping setup (view level). You have the Default one and you can create your own.

A basic rule would be to tag paid advertising by cpc (search), display or banner or ad (display). More info on how Google will recognise these can be found here - https://support.google.com/analytics/answer/3297892?hl=en