Analytics
4.4K members online now
4.4K members online now
Learn how to set up goals and Ecommerce tracking, verify accuracy of attribution traffic sources, and discuss funnel visualization, Multi-Channel Funnels, the Goal Flow Report, and Enhanced Ecommerce

Guide Me
star_border

Excluding certain URLs with regex

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

I'm a beginner with regex and I'm trying to set up a goal that will INCLUDE thank you pages such as:

/Best-Practices-TY-LP.html
/Mobile-TYP.html
/Top-10-Guide-TYP-Jan-2014.html

But EXCLUDE our "priority 1" thank you pages that contain the words 'demo', 'contact' or 'trial', such as:

/Website-Demo-Request-Thank-You-LP.html
/Website-Contact-Us-Thank-You-LP.html
/SEM-Brand-Demo-Request_TY-LP.html
/Demo-Request_TY-LP.html
/Contact-Sales-Website1-TYP.html
/Trial-TY-LP.html

I've come up with a regex to isolate only the P1 pages:
.*(Demo|Contact|Trial).*(TY\-LP|LP\-TY|TYLP|TYP\.|TYP\-|Thank\-You|WhitepaperTY)

But now I need something that will include (TY\-LP|LP\-TY|TYLP|TYP\.|TYP\-|Thank\-You|WhitepaperTY) and exclude (Demo|Contact|Trial) so I can identify the rest of our thank you pages in a goal.

Since GA doesn't allow the lookahead/behind regex, I'm not sure how to tackle this. I've tried several variations and nothing seems to work. (I can't use the "exclude" dropdown that many have mentioned in other posts because the goals do not have that option. I have to fit it all into a single line of regex.)

Thanks in advance!!

p.s. I know our URLs are a mess. I'm working on cleaning that up. But in the meantime, this is what I have to work with. Smiley Happy

1 Expert replyverified_user

Re: Excluding certain URLs with regex

Top Contributor
# 2
Top Contributor
You'd have to post a full list of the good and bad urls to let anyone suggest an expression that would work.

You might consider splitting up the list into multiple goals in some logical grouping, making the individual expressions less complicated and more specific.