Analytics
3.1K members online now
3.1K members online now
Learn how to set up goals and Ecommerce tracking, verify accuracy of attribution traffic sources, and discuss funnel visualization, Multi-Channel Funnels, the Goal Flow Report, and Enhanced Ecommerce

Guide Me
star_border

Difference between Channels Report and Assisted Conversions Report

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Dear all,

as I'm quite new to GA I apologize in advance for this (potentially) silly question Smiley Happy

I want to analyze the channel distribution of goal conversions and found quite substantial differences between the Channels report and the Assisted Conversions report. The total number of goal completions/conversions is the same in both reports, but the channel distribution is rather different.

I'd assume the channel attribution in the Channel report is based on the Last Click model, hence I'd expect identical results in both reports?

Thanks for your help.

Jan

acquisition_channel_report.pngChannel Report

conversions_MCF_assistdconv_report.pngAssisted Conversion Report

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Marked as Best Answer.
Solution
Accepted by topic author Jan Hendrik S
May 2016

Re: Difference between Channels Report and Assisted Conversions Report

Follower ✭ ✭ ✭
# 5
Follower ✭ ✭ ✭
Channel Report and the Assisted Conversion Report don't measure thing the same way.
They use different attribution reporting methodology.

In the Channel Report you have last non direct interaction.
In the Assisted Conversion Report you have last interaction.

So in the AC report you'll get a looot of conversions attributed to direct traffic but in the CR report those conversions will be distributed between more channels.

See explanation for models here: https://support.google.com/analytics/answer/1665189?hl=en&ref_topic=3205717

And no it is not possible to make both reports use the same logic.

View solution in original post

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 2
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Hey Guys,