Analytics
2.9K members online now
2.9K members online now
Learn how to set up goals and Ecommerce tracking, verify accuracy of attribution traffic sources, and discuss funnel visualization, Multi-Channel Funnels, the Goal Flow Report, and Enhanced Ecommerce

Guide Me
star_border

Cross domain tracking or multiple containers?

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Hi all!!

I just started in a new company and they have the strangest set up for the ga accounts. They have 7 different websites (different url's) but they share the same shopping cart. 

That's triggering a lot of problems that I'm not sure how to solve as I'm also new to GTM.

- Do you recommend different containers or cross domain tracking?

They want to treat each brand individually but as the shopping cart is common I don't know how to treat  it in GTM. Should old the tags be the same or I can create different tags for each one?

- Bounce rate is particularly low (around 18%). I check and it have only the GTM code so I don't know which other problem can be.

- I want to create conversion funnels, as they don't have and for me is basic analyse the shopping behaviour. Will I have problems setting the goals as the product pages are different but basket is common (how I can avoid duplicate the tracking).

- There is a way to see in GA which tags are firing? they're not following any naming conversion so is quite tricky to understand what they did.

- What will be the implications if I delete the tags and re-tag the site?

Thanks!!!!!

1 Expert replyverified_user

Re: Cross domain tracking or multiple containers?

Top Contributor
# 2
Top Contributor

Hi Carla,

ufff a long listSmiley Happy

Do you recommend different containers or cross domain tracking?
Different containers may be applied if each of the sites in question uses different ad agencies or tracking needs are completely specific to a site - potentially you can track all sites with only one container.