AdWords is now Google Ads. Our new name reflects the full range of advertising options we offer across Search, Display, YouTube, and more. Learn more

Analytics
4K members online now
4K members online now
Learn how to set up goals and Ecommerce tracking, verify accuracy of attribution traffic sources, and discuss funnel visualization, Multi-Channel Funnels, the Goal Flow Report, and Enhanced Ecommerce

Guide Me
star_border

Conversions by Campaign - (not set) displayed when refining by secondary dimension

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Hello,

Obligatory newbie disclaimer: I'm relatively new to GA. Forgive me.

I cannot make sense of this. I'm am trying to create a custom report to display conversion and transaction data for a variety of email campaigns. To start, I'm experimenting with one specific campaign.

If I navigate to Conversions -> e-commerce -> transactions, and segment by campaign name matching regex .*xxxxxx.*, I can see all transactions from this campaign, suggesting that UTM tags are created correctly and the segment filter via regex is capturing the correct data. However, if I do not segment, and try to refine by secondary dimension "campaign", I only see (not set) in the campaign field for each transaction. Adding an advanced filter to 'include' 'campaign' 'matching regex' .*xxxxxx.*, no transactions appear.

If transactions from this campaign can be viewed via segmentation, suggesting that campaign UTM is correct and functioning, why is the campaign field displaying (not set) when there is no segmentation happening?

Any help would be appreciated.

Best,

John

1 Expert replyverified_user

Conversions by Campaign - (not set) displayed when refining by secondary dimension

Rising Star
# 2
Rising Star

John,

The results you describe are unexpected.  Is your segment a user based or session based segment and are you seeing sampling?  Either could explain the results.

Best,

Theo Bennett

Analytics Evangelist at MoreVisibility | Contact Me