Analytics
2.7K members online now
Understand information in your reports and troubleshoot reporting issues such as self-referrals, (not set) data, and inaccurate information

Guide Me
star_border

tracking downloads using htaccess

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Hi all,

(disclaimer: I'm not super HTML/web literate, so apologies if I'm using the wrong terms/language for things)

Our site has a lot of files, and my webmaster set it up so that we could track downloads in Analytics. He told me that when I link to a file I want to track, I have to use <a href=/download instead of <a href=/files. Via Analytics, I simply go to content drilldown and I can see all the times people have accessed any page beginning with /download, effectively tracking how many people have downloaded a file off the site.

This morning I was creating a htaccess file, not realizing that there already WAS a htaccess file, since it was hidden and being an extreme beginner, I didn't realize that the download tracking thing was done via htaccess. Well, I overwrote the htaccess and bam -- all my file links returned 404 errors. After much googling and trial+error, I managed to use add the following to my htaccess, and everything seems to be working again.

RewriteEngine On
RewriteRule ^download/(.*)$ /files/$1 [R,NC,L]

Links are written as <a href=mysite.com/download/document.pdf> and once clicked, the browser opens mysite.com/files/document.pdf.

However, it seems Analytics is no longer treating clicks on file links as "pageviews." We want to see how many people "viewed" mysite.com/download/document.pdf. I think that before I messed it up, we could even see how long users stayed on that page, reading the pdf. What do I need to put into the htaccess file to restore this? Being not very fluent in HTML, it would be helpful to have the exact code I need to paste, and to know where to paste it.