Analytics
6K members online now
Understand information in your reports and troubleshoot reporting issues such as self-referrals, (not set) data, and inaccurate information

Guide Me
star_border

Website Traffic Suddenly Dropped — Can a new Wordpress theme cause this??

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Analytics Community,

Hi there. My website has been so consistent for the last few years (I thought), that I failed to notice until this past couple weeks that on Feb 22, 2017, my traffic dropped in traffic immensely — overnight(4k-5k daily page views down to 1700 daily the next day)

The night before, Feb 21st, there was a huge spike of page views, and then the next day the page view numbers dropped way down and have been consistently low ever since.  (see screenshot below)

I'm fairly new with digging deep into GA, but I have spent enough time in the last 2 weeks pouring over this problem, and losing sleep, that I've been able to put together some information that could be useful to figure out what's happened. 

Starting in January this year, I have done some overhauling to my website — mainly on Jan 19th, changing my Wordpress theme from Headway Themes (apparently Headway has gone out of business so I jumped ship) to Divi (Elegant Themes). 

Is it possible that just changing to a new theme, could cause traffic to decrease? 

[Personal Analysis]

After getting into my analytics more, I noticed that between 10-24-2016 and 02-22-2017, my bounce rate was close to 2%. A lot of help here in the forums point to a bounce rate this low of having 2 copies of the GA tracking code reporting. This could explain why my pages per session basically doubled during this same time 4 month period that was affected. 

Then something I did to my website, or files on my server, deleted that second tracking code on 02-22 and my total page views and pages/session count came back to "normal" levels. 

I thought this was problem solved in my search for the answer!