Analytics
2.5K members online now
Understand information in your reports and troubleshoot reporting issues such as self-referrals, (not set) data, and inaccurate information

Guide Me
star_border

Users vs sessions

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Hello.

Can somone please help me understand the user and sessions data ?

I have had GA on my site for a month ... I have 3.232 users but only 1,851 ... 

Shouldn't users be equal to or higher then sessions ... or is users counting return visitors as a new user ? If so how can I see unique visitors?

Thanks you for you help ... I feel that these are amatuer questions ... but I'm an amateur so that's okay Smiley Happy

Cheers
Ryan

Users vs sessions

[ Edited ]
Participant ✭ ✭ ✭
# 2
Participant ✭ ✭ ✭

Hi Ryan,

Sessions

The definition of the session - a group of interactions that take place on your website within a given time frame. (default is 30 minutes). Let me give you an example because this might be hard to envision. 

Example 1:

Basically, I am Taavi and I visit yourwebsite.com and I go there at 3PM and then I look around and view a couple of pages on that website and then I leave and I don’t come back until 4PM. So basically, I come back one hour later, so it means that I have created 2 different sessions because these visits where not within that 30-minute window.

Example 2:

If I visit the website at 3PM, then leave and browse the other websites and come back at 3:20PM, that would be one single session because it’s within that 30 minutes window. When I first arrive on your site, the session is set to expire at 14:31. As I continue through your site, viewing pages and triggering events, each of these additional requests moves the expiry ahead 30 minutes. So basically, that’s how it works.