Analytics
3.9K members online now
Understand information in your reports and troubleshoot reporting issues such as self-referrals, (not set) data, and inaccurate information

Guide Me
star_border

URL Builder - website not accepting the UTM

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Hello!

Analytic novice here and I'm having some trouble finguring out why my website does not accept the UTM that the Google URL Builder creates. 

The UTM that is generated reads: http://mywebsite.com/?utm_source=xxx&utm_medium=popup&utm_campaign=testing2016

But once the link is clicked the extra code is not displayed in the address bar, just www.mywebsite.com. 
I'm assuming because of this, there is no campaign listed under Aquisition. 

I have had this 'campaign' up and running for more than 48hrs and I've tried replacing the '?' with a '#' which keeps the special code, but again it does not register in analytics.

Is it my website, the site's theme, that may be blocking this? If is, how to I change that?

Any help, suggestions, would be much apprecitated.

Thank you!

1 Expert replyverified_user

Re: URL Builder - website not accepting the UTM

Top Contributor
# 2
Top Contributor
Hi Traveling,

It would definitely appear that there is something happening on your site. Have you tested the URLs that have the parameters with and without www.?

-Tommy

Tommy Sands, AdWords Top Contributor | Community Profile | Twitter | Philly Marketing Labs
Did you find any helpful responses or answers to your query? If yes, please mark it as the ‘Best Answer.’

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 3
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
If reading this correctly, yes.
If I remove the question mark altogether I get a '404' page and if I change
the question mark to a '#' the campaign doesn't register in analytics.

Is there a plugin or something I can do to my website that will allow it to
accept the UTM url?

TG

Top Contributor
# 4
Top Contributor
I'm sorry, you may have misunderstood.

I meant with and without the www. not a reference to the ?