Analytics
2.1K members online now
Understand information in your reports and troubleshoot reporting issues such as self-referrals, (not set) data, and inaccurate information

Guide Me
star_border

Lost All Data from Previous Years

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Hi,

This is my first time asking for help in the forum! Please be gentle. Haha!

Anyway here is my problem I'm looking at around 19 websites that use google analytics. The problem is that all my historical data was lost starting around November. Some of the websites started generating new data this month (January) but no longer has any data from November moving back. 

I've begun some RCA into the problem and have also asked the devs to provide their input. However; I believer the historical data would not have been empty if it were the devs who somehow misplaced the code.performance drop.png

I've tried to take a closer look into the cause and have found some evidence of the problem but no direct way do conclusively point to a single cause of the problem. 

website issue.png

Out of the 19 websites that we currently have, 16 have no data and are showing that there is a code mismatch.

e-sports tracking code mismatch 1.png

All of our websites have no historical data after January.  They consistently show errors that are generally the same all throughout the 19 websites mainly, "TRACKING CODE MISMATCH ISSUE" and "NO HITS ISSUE".

At the moment we need some help with isolating the issue for our root cause analysis. 

[ Edited ]
Explorer ✭ ✭ ☆
# 2
Explorer ✭ ✭ ☆

Hi @Adrian C

Kindly check if the GA code has been installed with proper tracking ID on all of your websites. You can use Tag assistance for it. 
I am assuming that you have created different properties for websites. So you'll need codes with different property ID (UA-XXXXXX-X)

Thanks,
Ritwik

Re: Lost All Data from Previous Years

[ Edited ]
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 3
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭