Analytics
3.6K members online now
Understand information in your reports and troubleshoot reporting issues such as self-referrals, (not set) data, and inaccurate information

Guide Me
star_border

Anomalous User Sessions

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Hi all,

Preface: I'm a bit new to Google Analytics so I apologize in advance if I misname things, use confusing terminology, or have done something highly unusual.  =)

I just created a new Account and Property for my company's Android app, downloaded the configuration .json file to our app project, and set up basic app integration to track only session creation. Plan was to set things like screen views, button presses, and other interactions today. However, when I got a chance to look at the analytics panel this morning, there were 29 sessions created on Sunday, all with a 0 second session duration, and all of which originated from a Mac running OS 10.10 (which is immediately strange given this is an -android- app). I checked every field I could find on the analytics panel but the only information that was given was the service provider of the session connections, which seem to vary widely but around 1/4 of which seem to come from Japan and China, plus an entry from something that looks like the Department of Defense. (Screenshot Included) We're based out of Seattle and, so far as we know, don't currently rely on any services from overseas.

Has anyone seen anything like this before? I can't think of anything particularly malicious anyone could do with the ability to post data to our analytics panel at this point, especially since it's so new that I'm willing to just delete the entire account and recreate it if a simple token invalidation / recreation isn't sufficient. Still, it's concerning to me that someone managed to gain access when the only known copies of our analytics tokens reside on my dev machine and on a private GitHub with 100% coverage of 2FA on all included users. Is there something I'm missing?