Analytics
2.4K members online now
Understand information in your reports and troubleshoot reporting issues such as self-referrals, (not set) data, and inaccurate information

Guide Me
star_border

Analytics Reporting Way Off

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

I've been using Analytics for over 4 years now. I've never really had any issues and I've learned how to read my data and filter unwanted information.

However, I updated my homepage around the middle of last month and forgot to re-add the tracking code. Once I realized what I had done, 5 days later, I added it. 

To my issue- the tracking doesn't seem right since. One day in particular, Analytics says September 12th I had NO visitors. NOTHING. Very odd for a site that gets 300-500+ visitors EVERY day. Adsense states I had over 500 pageview and made some earnings. How is that if ANalytics says NO ONE VISITED.

Since there appears to be no way to contact Google and ask them why this reporting information is completely off, does anyone here know what is wrong and how I can fix it?

1 Expert replyverified_user

Re: Analytics Reporting Way Off

Top Contributor
# 2
Top Contributor
Hi,

Please check if your tracking tag is working properly using the Google Tag Assistant Chrome extension.

https://chrome.google.com/webstore/detail/tag-assistant-by-google/kejbdjndbnbjgmefkgdddjlbokphdefk?h...

Let me know what you find.

Arnold Majlath, Google Analytics Top Contributor
Circle Me On Google+ | Visit me @ Redfly Digital

Participant ✭ ✭ ☆
# 3
Participant ✭ ✭ ☆
Hi Shelly,

There are a few ways you can check to see if the Google Analytics tracking code on your website is working.
1>First use tag assistant to find if there is any tracking issue.
2>Check your Real-Time reports - If you see data in these reports, it means that your tracking code is currently collecting data.
3>Check the Tracking Status in your property - Which tells you if your tracking code is working or not.
4>also check analytics code for any extra space.