Analytics
3.4K members online now
3.4K members online now
Learn to identify referral spam traffic, as well as best practices to reduce referral spam in your Google Analytics account

Guide Me
star_border

Is my website under attack?

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Hello all.

I am new to running a website and interpreting the data therefrom. I am using Google Analytics to monitor traffic and user behavior.

The website has been up for five days. Google Analytics has twice registered a large (large for my website) influx of traffic from Boston all of which has a high bounce rate. For instance, today I had about 100 unique users visitors come to my website. 32 of those were from Boston, all coming at about 9 am, with a 94% bounce rate among those users. The rest of my traffic is spread throughout the day with about a 50% bounce rate.

The second day the site was up, I registered about 240 unique users with 110 being from Boston, about 100 being from "city not set," but with a 90% or higher bounce rate.

Are these website crawls from search engines are something nefarious?

Here is the website:

www.millrightcnc.com

Thank you.

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Accepted Solutions
Marked as Best Answer.
Solution
Accepted by topic author Derek R
July 2016

Re: Is my website under attack?

[ Edited ]
Participant ✭ ✭ ✭
# 4
Participant ✭ ✭ ✭

I don't recommend to click on those links in your Google Analytics account that seem to be weird or which don't have a proper hostname. You can read more about the different bots here: https://www.incapsula.com/blog/bot-traffic-report-2014.html

Hopefully, your website is protected. You should contact your website developer in order to ask more information about the level of the security.

I will list out the free tools that you can use scan your website for security vulnerabilities and malware:

I hope above list helps you to perform security scanning against your website.

Here's the great overview that Alex Moore has written: