Analytics
3.5K members online now
3.5K members online now
Ask questions about filter set-up and issues with using filters in Google Analytics reports

Guide Me
star_border

sub domain only view while excluding www

Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 1
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

Within our website, we have a subdomain for each organization we work with.  organization1.website.com,organization2.website.com, etc.  These are created as we add organizations and will grow to be in the hundreds. 

I'd like to track the data for those subdomains as a whole, while excluding our website, www.website.com. 

I've set up two views.  One to hold data for just www, and the other to track data for all other subdomains.  I'm a little new at GA, and have done some looking around, but can't really figure out the best way to do this.  Any help with best practice so I can learn is greatly appreciated. 

1 Expert replyverified_user
Marked as Best Answer.
Solution
Accepted by topic author Ryan J
July 2016

Re: sub domain only view while excluding www

Top Contributor
# 2
Top Contributor
Hi,

You need to set up an exclude filter for the organization subdomains view:
Predefined -> Exclude -> traffic to hostname -> that are equal to : www.website.com

For the website set up an Include Only filter:
Predefined -> Include Only -> traffic to hostname -> that are equal to : www.website.com

So basically you will exclude the www subdomain from the organizations view and include only the www subdomain in your website view. (www is also a subdomain like organization1, organization2...)

Hope this helps.

Arnold Majlath, Google Analytics Top Contributor
Circle Me On Google+ | Visit me @ Redfly Digital

[ Edited ]
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭
# 3
Visitor ✭ ✭ ✭

This is what I was looking for! 

With the "that are equal to", will this still show paths such as website.com/football, and website.com/soccer and what not? 

Top Contributor
# 4
Top Contributor
Paths are tracked only for the hostnames that are not excluded.